Clever crafty craziness!

So, like a million other mums out there with toddlers or pre-schoolers or young kids in general, I am always on the lookout for something different, challenging, exciting, educational or just plain fun to do with my two. I look back over the last few months and feel really proud of the effort I’ve put into finding and then executing stuff to do that will entertain or teach my boys in one way or another so thought I’d start writing about our daily shenanigans. If nothing else, I’ll love having this record of what we did during these precious years that I’m so grateful I can enjoy one on one each day with them.

So I’ll start by recapping some of the things we’ve done over the last few weeks. These things are EASY and quick and generally not very messy! I only attempt things that I can prepare quickly so that if I’m sensing I need to do something a little fun to keep the boys at bay then I know I can get onto it quickly without losing their attention.

I don’t have many photos of these activities as I wasn’t planning on writing a blog about them but future fun will be fully photographed!

The first is a coloured milk swirling activity. I can’t remember where I saw it, but here is what mine looked like:

20140619-112302.jpg
You’ll need:

A shallow dish
Full cream milk
Different colours of food colouring
Cotton bud
Dish washing liquid

Fill a shallow dish with full cream milk; add some drops of different food colouring;

20140619-115943.jpg

Get a cotton bud and put some dish washing liquid on the end then dip it in and keep swirling and watch the magic!

Truly beautiful.

20140619-120259.jpg

The next one is fireworks in a cup, it was pretty magical too! I saw it
here

So again, it uses items you will already have at home and is super quick and easy but so much fun with the little ones and big ones alike (aka me!).

You will need:

A glass
Warm water
Food colouring
Oil

These are the ever so difficult instructions (insert sarcasm here!):

Fill the glass 3/4 full with warm water.
In a separate cup put a few tablespoons of oil and add just a few drops of food colouring, then mix up with a fork a little.
Add the oil to the water and watch the fireworks display!

The photo doesn’t do it justice at all – try it out and you’ll see what I mean!

20140619-120718.jpg

We tried this a few times as the first time we had a little too much food colouring so it wasn’t as spectacular – so keep the drops to a minimum. I personally think lighter colours work better and look prettier. We also tried adding drops of food colouring to the glass after we’d added the oil and it does break through but is not quite as effective.

One final liquid based activity to finish this post (there are so many others I’ve tried, so will save them for anther day!) is ‘hopping’ corn. This was super cool – I was quite mesmerised and loved that it lasted a fair while! I saw it here

I have a video of ours but can’t figure out how to upload it plus it would’ve been a spoiler so here is a pic, but you really have to try it to see how great it is!

20140619-123251.jpg

You’ll need:
A jar
Water
Food colouring
Bi carb soda
Vinegar
Popping corn kernels

Fill the jar with water and add a few drops of a light coloured food colouring. Then add a handful (or more!) of corn kernels. Then a few tablespoons of bi carb and finally a few more tablespoons of vinegar. Then the hopping will begin!

I think this little tasting plate is a nice sampler of the EASY ‘tricks’ (as my little guy calls them) we have tried out recently. Lots more to come!

4 thoughts on “Clever crafty craziness!

Leave a Reply

