Rainbow play

Rainbow rice

Rainbows are beautiful and kids are so attracted to them – I’m sure there are loads of activities that incorporate a rainbow theme (I still love our awesome magnetic pom pom rainbow that we made recently) and I will endeavour to do some more (so as always, stay tuned!) but here is what we’ve tried recently. The first is a simple rainbow rice. I had seen it around and didn’t actually think it would create much fun for the little ones… Until I had seen it in action at a friends place. There were loads of kids playing ranging from aged one to 8 or so and they had an absolute ball!! It’s actually an amazing sensory activity and my friend had even added some essential oil to it to add another sensory appeal – it was lavender and smelled beautiful!

So here is what you’ll need:
Rice (clearly..!)
Vinegar
Food colouring
Zip lock bags
Essential oil (if you wish)
A tub to play with the rice in.

I didn’t grab any photos of the making of this as it was done a little while ago… But it was super easy – separate the rice into several zip lock bags and add some food colouring to each bag then a tablespoon or so of vinegar (add the oils here too if you choose) and close the bags and shake all around. Then open the bags and leave them a few hours to dry completely. 20140708-202231-73351244.jpg Then empty the bags and let the little ones explore. image We used funnels and a sieve and our hands of course and enjoyed the colours and textures and smell. image

The next ‘activity’ (I use that word loosely here) was to make a rainbow cake. I didn’t actually make it with my little guys (but will definitely do so soon). I think it’s a great little colour sensory activity that the little ones will love.

So I just made a basic butter cake (I used this recipe) and divided the batter into four bowls, then added some food colouring to each. The kids will love this part! Then add the batter into your cake tin (or slow cooker if you’re like me as that’s how I cooked this one!) and you can have a bit of fun with the mixing and pouring of the colours. Then bake/cook it and wait to see how it turns out!

I just layered mine in one on top of the others and was very happy with how pretty and rainbowish it came out.

20140709-082400-30240197.jpg
I have a few ideas for some other rainbow play so I have some glitter for our next bit of craziness fun!! Keep an eye out for that – until then, get crafty!

Leave a Reply

